Authors from around the world aspire to have the same luck as Mexican Guadalupe Nettel and become the brand new winners of the fourth edition of the Ribera del Duero International Short Story Prize, which the Regulatory Council of Designation of Origin called this past June. This bi-annual competition acknowledges the best unpublished storybook, written in Spanish,

Those interested may present their work until December 31st and win a prize of 50,000 Euros, the largest in the world for a competition of this kind. Ribera del Duero’s literary contest is also one of the most influential out of those held internationally in its category due to its impressive reception. The first edition was held in 2008, and received 514 manuscripts from writers of about twenty countries. In its second edition, in 2010, there were 660 entries by writers from 23 countries. The third, held last year, exceeded all expectations and indisputably confirmed the success of the Ribera del Duero International Short Story Prize, establishing it as a benchmark within the international literary scene: 863 writers from 25 countries took part in the third edition of this award.


In its three previous editions, the Ribera del Duero International Short Story Prize was awarded to Spaniards Javier Sáez de Ibarra (“Mirar al Agua (To Look at the Water)”, 2009), Marcos Giralt Torrente (“El final del amor (The End of Love)”, 2011),  and  Mexican Guadalupe Nettel (“El matrimonio de los peces rojos (The Marriage of the Red Fish)”, 2013).